Wonderful Line-up for Forward Book of Poetry 2014

The Forward Book of Poetry 2014 – which we are giving copies of to First Story’s Young Writers’ Festival next month – promises to be an exciting collection.
Jeanette Winterson, chair of the 2013 judging panel, has described the anthology as “a genuine showcase of the scope and depth of poetry now”. She and her fellow judges – Paul Farley, David Mills, Sheenagh Pugh and Samuel West – each read 162 poetry collections and 159 single poems before settling on the ones they loved best.
The poets shortlisted for the £10,000 Forward Prize for Best Collection – Rebecca Goss, Glyn Maxwell, Sinead Morrissey, Jacob Polley and Michael Symmons Roberts – will all be featured in the book.Other poets shortlisted this year are Steve Ely, Adam White, Emily Berry, Marianne Burton, Dan O’Brien and Hannah Lowe, all for the Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection. The shortlist for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem includes Rosie Shepperd, C. J. Allen, Hugo Williams, Patience Agbabi and Nick MacKinnon.

Winners will be announced on October 1 at the Southbank centre. Other poets who will have work in the collection are Danny Abse, Simon Armitage, Gillian Clarke, Clive James, Luke Kennard, Mark Halliday, Medbh McGuckian, Maurice Riordan, Anne Stevenson, George Szirtes, Clare Trevien, Jean Sprackland and CK Williams.




Sign up to the Give a Book mailing list